Cloudsplitter 50k Training Update

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m finally getting back into a serious training routine, with my sights set on finishing the Cloudsplitter 50k in October. I fully expect this to be my biggest challenge yet – harder than Ironman and Tour de Skyline – as the 50k course includes over 9000 feet of climbing.

Elevation profile for the 50k course, which is actually 35.6 miles.

Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 10.50.53 AM

I’ve been focusing on diversifying my training to include lots of long runs, trail runs, hill repeats, strength work, etc., so that I am doing a bit of everything. In fact, I haven’t done this yet, but I thought today that I should start including some power walking on the treadmill at a steep incline as well. I want to be prepared for any and everything!

I also want to make sure I’m avoiding injuries, so I’m trying to be good about foam rolling and incorporating a couple of recovery swims each week to balance out all the pounding from the running. Cycling is taking a back seat at the moment, because there are only so many hours in a week and I can’t do it all.

I’m super excited to take on this challenge and to have something to focus on again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

