My Favorite Recipes of 2015

For some reason it hit me a couple of days ago that I have officially stuck with cooking healthy, vegan meals for an entire year now! In honor of this anniversary, I thought I’d compile a list of my favorite recipes from 2015.

Best Recipe

Minimalist Baker Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls 

I made these on Thanksgiving morning and I am still thinking about them. They were a huge hit at our house – even with my non-vegan husband. This was one of the most complicated recipes I tried all year (I had to work with yeast for the first time ever), but it was well-worth the effort.

IMG_4549

Best Sandwich

Minimalist Baker Chickpea Sunflower Sandwich 

Make it. Now. It’s that good. And make sure you make the garlic hummus sauce, even though the recipe says it’s optional. It’s really the best part of the entire sandwich!

IMG_2512

Honorable Mention: Tiny Lemon Tree Cannellini Bean Sandwich

image2

Best Salad

Tasty Yummies Autumn Harvest Salad 

This hearty and flavorful roasted vegetable salad is meant to be served at room temperature. I highly recommend adding butternut squash to this one.

IMG_2520

Best Entree

Vegan Yumminess Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Tofu 

I’ve made a zillion versions of this now, using different combinations of vegetables and variations of the sauce, and they are all amazing. Tofu “stir fry” is a great way for me to pump up my vegetable intake when I feel like I’ve been lacking in that area.

IMG_2636

IMG_2721

Best Knock-Off of a Meat Dish

One Green Planet Tempeh Gyros with Tzatiki 

I actually hate most meat knock-off dishes. I just don’t find them appealing at all. And I’m actually not a huge tempeh fan, if I’m being completely honest. But this recipe is a winner. I think marinating the tempeh for several hours really makes the difference here, so make sure you don’t cut any corners with marinating. It will be worth it! I also suggest you make extra tzatiki because it’s awesome for dipping (veggies, pita chips, etc.) and as a salad dressing, too. 

IMG_4761

Best Chili

Taste of Home (aka “Julianna’s”) Chili

There are LOTS of veggie chili options and I like several of them, but this is my standout. It’s easy to make (the hardest part is chopping up all of the vegetables), super healthy, and has great flavor. I call it “Julianna’s” chili, since my friend Julianna (who is a meat-eater) introduced me to the recipe last winter and I have been hooked on it ever since.

The only photo I have of this one is pre-cooking, but you get the idea. It’s loaded with veggies!

IMG_4246

Please let me know what you think if you try any of these! Happy cooking!!

5 thoughts on “My Favorite Recipes of 2015

  1. This food all looks super delicious and it is so beautiful! I never have the willpower to photograph my food before I devour it. I actually stumbled across a funny Instagram account called Shitwasdelicious and it is all photos of empty plates! That could be me 😉

Leave a Reply

