Tri Season is Here!

This weekend, I’ll be racing my first tri of the season – the Olympic distance race at Monticelloman in Lake Monticello, Virginia.

I haven’t done an Olympic distance race since 2013, so I have no idea what to expect in terms of times (I did Columbia Tri last year, but the swim was cancelled for that race). This is also my first tri since Poconos last September, so it has been a long time since I’ve done this triathlon thing! I hope I remember what to do (and I’m only partially kidding about that!).

I’m looking at this race as an opportunity to shake off some cobwebs. Of course, my main goal for this year is finishing IM Chattanooga, so this is just one small step on the road to a much bigger (in many ways) race that is five months away.

As always, I think the swim will be my biggest challenge this weekend – mentally even more so than physically. I’ve gotten out on the bike quite a bit this spring, so I’m less concerned about that.

I rode through Shenandoah National Park on Skyline Drive with fellow Team HPB-er Cris two weekends ago.

10423695_10206824848522773_7519470129032477040_n

10665875_10205535609943225_75113820082434958_n

At the Tri360 ride this past weekend with my Oiselle teammate, Taryn (below).

11173417_10153230989789197_810458946221810959_n

I’m not sure what to expect from my run, as I’ve had a few lingering physical issues this year, but I’m hopeful that I can crank out a decent effort there with all of the running races I’ve done this spring.

A huge thanks to MooMotion for their continued support this season! I feel so fortunate to represent this fabulous company.

I’ve gone back and forth about what kit I’m going to wear, but I think I’m going with my MooMotion Rosa Kit. I love that kit! 

securedownload-2

My next post will be my race report! Here we go!

8 thoughts on “Tri Season is Here!

  1. Woot! woot! Good luck Steph…you’ve been training hard. You can totally do the swim. Can’t wait to hear how your race goes. I’ve got an odd distance race this weekend. Longer than a sprint but not quite an Olympic. Bike leg is proportionally longer, so suits me well.

  2. Pingback: Race Report: Monticelloman Triathlon | Stephanie Granlund

  3. Pingback: May Favorites | Stephanie Granlund

Leave a Reply

