Race Report: Rock ‘n’ Roll D.C. Half Marathon

Writing this race report is sort of like pulling off a bandaid. It’s going to hurt a bit, so I’m making it quick and getting it over with.

I ran the Rock ‘n’ Roll D.C. half marathon last Saturday. I haven’t been shy about my sub-2:00 half marathon goal and I really thought I could do it at this race. I ran a 2:00:14 at the 2014 Rock ‘n’ Roll D.C. race, so I only needed to run 15 seconds faster this year to achieve my goal. Just over one second per mile.

I didn’t make it.

No excuses. I just didn’t do it. I was only on pace for the first three miles of the race, so it was clear fairly early on that I wasn’t going to make it.

I kept running, though, and didn’t give up. I ended up finishing in 2:08:01, which is my second fastest half marathon ever.

All around, it was a pretty miserable day. I actually thought I was going to get sick I was so nervous before the race. It was raining and cold before, during, and after the race. It took me over two hours to get home on Metro (the terrible D.C. subway system) because there was some issue with the trains. I couldn’t wait to get in a hot shower when I got home! I’m telling you this not because these things had anything to do with my performance, but because I think it was just a bad day for me all around. Those days happen to everyone. There is no benefit to dwelling on it.

The person behind me here was definitely dressed more appropriately for the weather.

253269_187479380_XLarge_2
I know I can run a sub 2:00 half and I will do it. My next shot is the Loudoun Half on April 12.

 

10 thoughts on “Race Report: Rock ‘n’ Roll D.C. Half Marathon

  1. You will bounce back. Second best time ever in crummy conditions – that’s nothing to be ashamed of. You’re fit (you look fantastic!), you’re healthy, and you’re more determined than ever.

  2. Pingback: April Favorites | Stephanie Granlund

  3. Pingback: Race Report: Loudoun Half Marathon | Stephanie Granlund

  4. Pingback: Good News and Bad News | Stephanie Granlund

  5. Pingback: Double PRs | Stephanie Granlund

Leave a Reply

