February Favorites

No one has ever accused me of lacking enthusiasm. I’m either not interested, or I’m all in. Here are five things I’m loving this month:

1. Minimalist Baker Chickpea Sunflower Sandwich I recently tried the most delicious recipe from Minimalist Baker. This chickpea sunflower sandwich is AMAZING! I really can’t say enough about it. The recipe says the garlic sauce (which is made with hummus and lemon juice) is optional, but you really need to make it. It’s so tangy and bright. That may even be my favorite part of the entire sandwich. I added sliced tomato and avocado, but you could certainly add other toppings (lettuce, red onion, etc.).

The most amazing sandwich in the history of sandwiches.

IMG_2512

FullSizeRender

While I initially made a sandwich, I have subsequently put a scoop (okay, maybe more than a scoop…) of the chickpea mixture on greens with chopped tomato and avocado and the garlic sauce drizzled on top to make a salad. I’m sure I will be using the sauce on a zillion different things going forward. Both the sauce and the chickpea filling were quite easy to make. I think this will appeal to meat-eaters, as well. Make this recipe – you won’t be disappointed!

2. TRX at Machine M3 If you live in Northern Virginia, you must try a TRX class at Machine M3 in Vienna. One of my major goals for this year is to work on my strength. I know I’m not alone here – getting stronger seems to be a popular goal for many runners and triathletes, based on the blogs and social media posts I’ve read lately. Several people recommended TRX to me and I finally tried it a few weeks ago. The great thing about TRX is that there are always alternate versions of each exercise to make it harder or easier. For example, in my class, I do sit-ups with a weighted ball, but only extend the ball forward (easier), as opposed to holding it over my head (harder). I hope to eventually be able to do sit-ups with the ball over my head, but for now, I like that I have the option to modify and still benefit from the exercise. I think I may be the last person on Earth to discover TRX, but if you haven’t yet and are a runner or triathlete looking to improve your strength in 2015, I highly recommend trying it!

3. MooMotion Revolution Shorts I know I have raved about the MooMotion Revolution Shorts before on my blog and social media, but they are that fabulous, and I know people may be looking for new gear as their cycling mileage builds heading into the spring. These shorts are comfortable, flattering, and durable. I used two pairs for almost all of my training and racing last year and they still look as good as the day they arrived at my door (I say “almost” because I also had a pair of Rosa Tri Shorts in the rotation, and although they are beautiful, I didn’t wear those quite as often because they didn’t mix and match with as many tops). One of the features I appreciate most in the Revolution Shorts are the pockets. There are pockets on both the left and right sides of the shorts for holding gels or keys (you can even fit an iPhone in the pockets), which is perfect if you’re running off the bike. They come in classic colors (black, navy, charcoal), so you can mix and match them with any tri top or cycling jersey. If you have been looking for new tri/cycling shorts, you should definitely give these a try.

That’s me at Rev3 Poconos, wearing the Hudson Tri Jersey and Revolution Shorts.

REV3POCONO.00001-583

4. Bobo’s Oat Bars I recently discovered Bobo’s Oat Bars and they are absolutely delicious. These vegan bars are made in Colorado, from non-GMO, natural, and organic ingredients. They come in many flavors and every flavor I have tried so far has been outstanding. These bars really do taste homemade. I have been looking for a vegan fueling option for my long training rides this spring and summer and these are going to be perfect! They are also great as snacks with a little peanut butter on top! I’ve found them in a local health food store (Roberta’s in Fairfax, for anyone in the area) and my local CVS (a pleasant surprise), but you can also order them online from the company’s website.

5. Hoka Cliftons As you may remember, I had some issues with knee pain leading into the marathon last fall and the pain reappeared when I started building my running mileage again heading into the spring racing season. Alyssa suggested I explore some other shoe options and after trying several different shoes, I bought a pair of Altras. I liked the Altras, but I never felt quite comfortable in them. While the knee did seem to improve from the added cushioning the Altras provided, I was starting to have some other issues popping up during runs. I went to see my chiropractor, and she suggested I try Hoka Cliftons, as they would provide the cushioning to protect my knee, but have a slightly higher drop (Altras are zero drop). I’ve worn them a few times and already feel more comfortable in them than I did the Altras. I’m hopeful that these are going to work well for me and keep me injury-free this year.

My new shoes!

IMG_2481

I’m always looking for new things to try, so let me know in comments what you’re loving this month (I know it’s not the weather!).

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “February Favorites

  1. Great post! Glad to hear you are liking the Hokas. What is the heel-toe drop on them? The chickpea sunflower mixture looks great. I will have to look up the recipe when I’m making my grocery list tonight. It is amazing how individual everyone’s body is. I have two pairs of the Revolution short. I like them but don’t love them. They are comfortable but I feel like they are not quite compressive enough and they start scooching up my thighs. And I don’t think I could fit into the next smaller size. As for me, I’m loving TrainerRoad, especially with the Wahoo Kickr – I can’t wuss out on the hard intervals when I’m in erg mode. And surprisingly I’m loving cross training in the pool – the butterfly is now my favorite. It is still really hard but I’ve got the rhythm down and I feel like a badass doing it at the pool.

  2. Pingback: Ready to [Rock ‘n’] Roll! | Stephanie Granlund

  3. Pingback: March Favorites | Stephanie Granlund

  4. Pingback: Coaching | Stephanie Granlund

Leave a Reply

