Monthly Goals

I want to start off this post by thanking Kaleigh Gerlich for her awesome work on my blog. I am absolutely thrilled with the results! If you are looking to upgrade your site, I highly recommend getting in touch with her.

I recently tweeted about my monthly goals and I got quite a bit of positive feedback on the idea, so I decided to blog about it. I think it’s a really cool concept and I hope it takes off.

In sum, what I’m doing is setting monthly goals in lieu of making a New Year’s resolution for 2015. Each “goal” is really just a small lifestyle change, but they are cumulative and, my hope at least, is that by the end of the year all of these little changes will make a big difference.

I can’t take credit for the idea. I got the idea from our 2015 wall calendar, which includes space to write-in goals each month. I bought the calendar because it has health tips and each month features an inspirational phrase, such as: “Do Something Today That Your Future Self Will Thank You For” and “It’s Not About Being the Best, It’s About being Better Than You Were Before.” Since I’m always striving to “be my best self” I knew this was the perfect calendar for me the minute I laid eyes on it!

It has been well-documented that people often struggle with New Year’s resolutions and I understand why. Big, lofty goals are hard to maintain on a day-to-day basis for an entire year. In contrast, my small monthly goals (I’m doing two each month) are very “doable” and after thirty days should be an established part of my daily routine before I add the next set of goals.

For example, for January, my two goals were to diversify the vegetables on my plate by eating at least two different vegetables each day and to work on strength twice a week.

Chopping veggies for dinner.

IMG_2467

The vegetable goal sounds quite simple and it was, once I was mindful of it. I set the goal because I often get stuck in ruts of eating broccoli or spinach for days on end and I know that I need to have more variety of vegetables in my diet to get sufficient nutrients and to fuel my workouts and maximize my recovery. Over the course of the month, I ate over 20 different vegetables. I made my two-a-day goal – and far exceeded it – every day but one. And I have continued this goal into February. Because of this, I have experimented in the kitchen with vegetables I’ve never cooked before, such as radishes, green onion, and, most recently, bok choy.

Bok choy time!

IMG_2472

For the strength goal, I have taken a couple of classes at local rec centers and tried some exercises on my own to meet my twice weekly goal. More recently, I tried a TRX class and that is something I definitely plan to blog about soon!

My new strength routine – JUST KIDDING!

IMG_2421

For February, I am adding two new goals. One is to do a thorough foam roll after every single runno excuses! I don’t have time for injuries this year!

My foam rolling tweet got lots of positive feedback, which is why I decided to blog about my monthly goals.

IMG_2476

The second goal is to be reasonable in portioning out my desserts. I have a major sweet tooth and have no intention of completely eliminating sweets from my diet. However, I do want to avoid two cookies turning into six cookies. This is going to be a tough one for me, but I’m doing okay so far. One night when I really wanted something more for dessert, I had some dried apricots instead. Those are sweet, but at least have some nutritional value.

For March, one of my goals is going to be limiting the amount of sugar I put in my coffee (I can go a bit overboard in the mornings with the sugar!). I still have to decide on a second goal for March, but I’m thinking it may be something related to positive thinking/problem-solving when things aren’t going as planned.

Are monthly goals something you’ve tried or plan to try?

 

 

6 thoughts on “Monthly Goals

  1. That’s awesome Stephanie! I love the new blog format. I admire your vegetable eating and sweet tooth portion. I got off track with some recent girl scout cookie purchases (for a good cause!) – because I can’t just sit down and eat two. You’ll definitely see the results of that strength training!

  2. Awesome idea! I regularly do this. For instance, I drink a lot of Coke. In December, I committed to not drinking any. That was really hard for me, and obviously wouldn’t have made a difference if I had one or two throughout the month – but it was the discipline of it. The “goal” was to ultimately drink less Coke overall. I think goals that promote a better lifestyle or happier living are fantastic.

    Perfection is impossible and to make that the measure of success isn’t realistic. What you said about being better than you were the day before is spot on. Making positive changes, no matter how big or small, is a real goal!

  3. Pingback: Race Report: Reston 10 Miler | Stephanie Granlund

Leave a Reply

