Winding Down and Gearing Up

I can’t believe it has already been over two weeks since Richmond! Since then, I have been enjoying some down time, including one week of recovery workouts and a week of “choice.” The latter (this past week) was largely consumed (the perfect word!) with family visiting from New York and travel to South Carolina for Thanksgiving and, truthfully, included more indulging than working out. We had two very long travel days in the car (four adults and two dogs in a mid-sized SUV!), where I barely moved at all. After all, it’s hard to move with an 80-pound Labradoodle having a panic attack on your lap! On the days I did work out, I walked 2-3 miles with my dad, which was lovely, but I feel like I weigh about 500 pounds right now and I am really ready to get moving again. While I will still be enjoying one more week of taking it easy, I will at least be back in my routine this coming week, with no travel and no house guests.

While this year is winding down, I am gearing up for 2015 by registering for a few races! The race I am most excited about is Challenge Atlantic City – I’m doing the half – at the end of June. I am super excited about this race and taking a few vacation days afterwards with my husband in A.C.! I’ve also registered for the D.C. Rock ‘n’ Roll half marathon in March, where I PRd last year. I’m hoping to go sub-2:00 this time around. In addition to these two races, I have a couple of other items on the schedule already, including Team HPB Camp in July. It’s really fun putting the schedule together and giving myself things to look forward to over the winter.

The start of a new year is always so exciting because you have a clean slate. Fresh beginnings are the best! What do you have planned for 2015?

2 thoughts on “Winding Down and Gearing Up

  1. Congrats (again) on Richmond and glad you had a chance to enjoy some downtime! I was going to try to coordinate lunch or something with you when I was in town this week but the time just slipped away. I’ll likely be back in NoVA a few times after the first of the year. Kudos to you on Challenge Atlantic City! I didn’t realize they added a half. Should be a fun course.

Leave a Reply

