Bird Camp and Training Update

This has undoubtedly been one of the busiest summers of my life, which I’m saying both as an introduction to this crazy catch-all of a blog post, but also because it explains why I haven’t posted here since July 7 (ouch!).

June & July

As you may know, in June, I was gearing up for my first 70.3 and simultaneously starting a new job. I’ve joined my husband’s real estate team, which has been great in terms of providing me with a more flexible work schedule, but there is also a learning curve when you completely switch industries (I was an attorney) and the job has definitely kept me busy. The other thing I’ve learned is that when you work for yourself, you work all the time, 7 days a week, every waking hour of the day. In any case, as if I didn’t have enough on my plate already, right after Syracuse, I unexpectedly had a family matter to deal with in New York and before I knew it, June was over and I was headed to triathlon camp in Charlottesville.

Camp was great, but exhausting, too, and I was very happy for camp to end so that I could get into some sort of a routine with the new job.

I spent most of July working – a lot! I was also training quite a bit both for Rev3 Poconos and to get my running in shape for Oiselle Team camp (aka “Bird Camp”).

Top: On a long ride through Loudoun County, Virginia. Loudoun has several wineries and the views are really lovely. Bottom: Doing some track work to get ready for Bird Camp!

securedownload

securedownload-1

Oiselle Camp

August was all about Oiselle camp. As you probably know if you follow me on social media, I run for the Oiselle Team. If you haven’t checked Oiselle out yet, you definitely should! They make beautiful, well-made, well-fitting running and casual wear for women. I joined the Team last August and it has been absolutely amazing! It’s a very supportive, empowering group and I’m proud to be a part of it.

The first ever Oiselle Team camp happened in August in Bend, Oregon.

Suffice it to say, Oregon is beautiful! One of my favorite camp activities was an over 2 hour hike at Smith Rock and the views were breathtaking.

View from the Smith Rock hike. This was on the second part of the hike, which was flat (top photo), but the hike started with a climb up a mountain (bottom photo). 

securedownload-6

10501743_10204749127311040_4184158179168595961_n

The hike was great not just because of the views, but because I got to spend some quality time with one of my best friends from camp, Ashley. She is also a triathlete and we spent a lot of time talking about triathlon and exchanging tips on training and nutrition.

My hiking buddy, Ashley, and me at the top of the mountain. 

10414506_10204746849214089_5508585509650875896_n

We also got to hike with Lauren Fleshman. I was a fan of hers before camp, of course, but, I can truly say that I am even more of a fan after getting to know her during camp. She is so honest, genuine, and nice. It’s incredible. During the hike, for example, she was the person helping people climb up and down the trickiest rocks – holding out her hand to steady us. During running drills and on runs she looked people in the eye and offered positive feedback, even for slower runners like me. We ran a 5k during the camp (more on that in a bit) and after she finished her race, she stayed at the finish line to cheer each and every one of us across the finish line. She clapped, made eye contact, and offered words of encouragement as we finished the race. I cannot say enough about how impressed I was by her throughout the entire camp.

Another one of my favorite camp activities was the Deschutes Twilight 5k, sponsored by Deschutes Brewery. The funny thing about this race is that even though it was a tiny local race (it didn’t even have a start mat for timing purposes), the field was STACKED! Lauren ran the race, of course, but while we were warming up, I saw pro triathlete Heather Jackson running by. After the race, I learned Ashleigh Gentle and Beth Gerdes also raced. Pretty impressive field!

I wasn’t sure what to expect at the race, since I was tired from all of the traveling, the race started at 7 p.m. (10 p.m. Eastern time, which is this girl’s bedtime!), and I’ve never run at elevation. I decided to just take it easy and have fun.

I started toward the back of the pack, so that I didn’t end up in the way of the speedsters. The first mile of the race was quite hilly, but my pace wasn’t terrible – much to my surprise – so I thought I would go for it and really race the race.

Screen shot 2014-09-01 at 9.35.58 AM

I ended up having a super fast (for me!) second mile with the downhill. So, mile 3 was just about holding on for as long as I could to the finish. My Garmin ended up showing a 25:55, which ties my 5k PR from earlier this year. My official time (gun time, since there wasn’t a start mat) was 26:05. I’ll take it!

We celebrated at the finish with Deschutes Brewery beer!

10563002_10204723652274180_2491608467323602371_n

Other camp activities included a long trail run along the river (speedy Ashley almost killed me out there), yoga, and a party with a live band. I enjoyed everything about camp, but the best part was meeting my teammates. In particular, I really lucked out with my awesome travel mates and roommates and I know our friendships will continue post camp.

Top: Me with my camp besties – Beckie, Jessica, and Ashley – and Oiselle CEO Sally and Lauren. Bottom: Roommates pic! Me with Megan and Kristine. We didn’t even realize we were all wearing the same shirt until someone pointed it out to us!

securedownload-3

securedownload

Post-Camp Training

The two weeks since camp have been crazy with me trying to recover from the travel/jet lag, catch-up on work, and train for my next race – Rev3 Poconos. Training-wise, I’ve finished two big ride-run bricks and have continued to work on my running – speedwork and hills. I’ve also had a couple of tough swim workouts, including one where I hit every interval with time to spare, much to my surprise! Hopefully, I can gain some confidence from these solid workouts going into the race.

Speedwork on the treadmill.

securedownload-7

My next post will be my Poconos race report and then I’ll be focused on training for the Richmond Marathon!

5 thoughts on “Bird Camp and Training Update

  1. Sounds like a very busy summer! Congrats on the strong 5K performance – maybe if all 5Ks had beer at the end we would all run faster 😉 You are so primed for a great race at Poconos. Can’t wait to catch up with you!

  2. Pingback: March Favorites | Stephanie Granlund

Leave a Reply

