SMASHed

I’ve had a very busy, productive, and inspiring week this week!

As I’ve mentioned before, one of my BIG 2014 goals is to survive tri camp in February. I had read great things about the 2013 camp from my Team HPB teammates and I knew it was something I wanted to work towards for 2014. I emailed Hillary back in July asking her if she would be hosting another camp in 2014 and she indicated that she was and was completely encouraging of me trying to come. Since then, this goal has definitely been on my mind. I know the caliber of athletes who attend this camp. It’s the big leagues. And, I know I have a lot of work I need to do to get there. In the back of my mind this whole time I’ve been worried about getting a call from Hillary saying she doesn’t think I’m ready this year. That fear is a big motivator.

Alyssa knows this is a goal of mine and has developed a game plan to make sure I can get there. To that end, this week, Alyssa set me up for swim camp. I’ve been at the pool FOUR of the last five days (Tuesday was an off day because of a special event I’ll talk about shortly.)!

Swimming is by far the weakest discipline for me, so I was worried about all of this swim time. But, actually, it’s been awesome! I think I am far less intimidated by the water when I’m swimming regularly. It’s doesn’t feel as scary. I’ve also been working on really pushing myself more in the pool and I’m already seeing results (more on this later too.).

This week, I booked my flights to Tucson and committed to rooming arrangements with my friend Katie, so there is no turning back now! I’m really excited – and scared – but I know it’s going to be an amazing experience! I can’t wait!

Speaking of Alyssa and Hillary, on Tuesday night, I had the pleasure of attending a SMASH event at Athlete Studio!

I’m not even sure where to start talking about SMASH and how much I love these ladies! Suffice it to say, they are a huge part of my life in several different capacities and I feel very fortunate to know them.

(L-R) Me, Hillary, and my century ride buddy, Kelli, at Athlete Studio in D.C. on Tuesday.

IMG_1095

The highlight of the night was an announcement that Alyssa will be representing SMASH next year. Hillary was so proud making the announcement that her voice was trembling a bit. After the announcement, Hillary “interviewed” Alyssa about her goals and training, balancing work and triathlon (no snooze button!), and her race schedule for 2014.ย Of course, Hillary just won a little thing called Ultraman, which I got to talk to her about too.ย I can’t do it justice here, but between the two of them, it was an awesome and inspiring night!

By the time I got home and ate dinner it was really late, but I was too pumped up to go to bed! I texted Alyssa “I’m too inspired to sleep!!” Jon knew I was up waaaaayyyy after my bedtime and said definitively: “There is no way you are going swimming tomorrow.”

Well, not only did I prove him wrong by jumping right out of bed at 4:20 a.m. the next morning for masters, but I had probably the best swim of my life!! It’s amazing what a little inspiration can do to get you going!

My swim on Thursday was fabulous too and yesterday morning I had a great speed session on the treadmill before work!

So, it’s been an awesome week! I’m definitely tired and a bit sore, but I’ve worked really hard and definitely pushed myself beyond my comfort zone – exactly the kind of practice I’ll need for camp in February!

 

2 thoughts on “SMASHed

  1. Stephanie – you are setting yourself up for a great year! You’ve got the drive and the commitment, you’re going to see some amazing improvement. Excited to see you get there!

Leave a Reply

