Moms Run This Town

Yesterday, I met up with some members of my local Moms Run This Town chapter for my long run (as you know, I’m training for the New York City Marathon, my third marathon, being held on November 3rd).

I am not a mom, but I was welcomed into the club with open arms last winter. Actually, one of the group’s co-leaders literally waved me down while I was running one day to tell me about MRTT. Ever since, I have been very active on our chapter’s Facebook page and have attended a few of the group’s runs and events.

MRTT is really fabulous for a lot of reasons, but particularly as a great support network for women of all different running abilities, from different backgrounds, and with different interests and goals – walkers and Boston Marathon qualifiers; 5k and ultramarathon runners; triathletes and cyclists; moms and non-moms.

Yesterday, our chapter was celebrating reaching a whopping 400 members!! The goal was to have 40 members (10%) meet for the 6:00 a.m. group run and for the chapter to run a total of 400 miles this weekend (including members who ran at other times throughout the weekend).

Reps from PowerBar and Pacers met us at 6:00 a.m. at the community center in Vienna, along the W&OD Trail. PowerBar even gave us some free samples to fuel our run (thanks, PowerBar and Pacers!). We gathered for a group photo and then off we went for a run along the trail.

998572_10200266788774810_337257287_n

Some ladies were racing today, so they ran for 20 minutes. Other ladies ran 20 miles. We all broke off into smaller groups and I ran briefly with a few ladies doing run-walk intervals. I thought because I was running slower than them, we would stay at about the same place along the trail even with their walk breaks, but I ended up getting separated from them fairly early on and doing most of my two hour run by myself. However, I enjoyed seeing the other ladies coming back the other direction as they finished their runs, so I still had some company on-and-off throughout the run.

I finished my run feeling strong. It was cool, which always helps me, but it also helped that I wasn’t really focusing on my pace for this run. I had my Garmin set to show me the time only, so I had no clue what my pace was the entire time. It was weird, but AWESOME at the same time! It made me realize that I miss just going for distance without worrying about pace, which was my approach training for my first marathon (and my fastest marathon, which may tell me something…). I’m sure the Pomegranate Blueberry Acai PowerGel helped too! Seriously people, try it!!

All-in-all, it was a great morning with some great women! And, I am very happy to report that we exceeded our 400 mile goal!

3 thoughts on “Moms Run This Town

  1. Pingback: Ragnar Relay – Part I: The Friendships | Stephanie Granlund

  2. Pingback: Two Months To Go! | Stephanie Granlund

  3. Pingback: Getting my $h!t Together | Stephanie Granlund

Leave a Reply

