Culpeper International Triathlon

Tomorrow, I’m racing my first triathlon in an entire year.

As I’ve discussed about four million times here, I was injured last fall during marathon training and couldn’t run for the entire winter. I had planned to do a half marathon back in March (Rock ‘n Roll USA), and then a 70.3 in June (IM Mont Tremblant 70.3), but had to miss both because of the running injury that just wouldn’t get better.

The injury started getting sorted out in April, which was around the time I knew I was going to miss Mont Tremblant. Around the same time, I decided to register for an Olympic distance triathlon in August, figuring a 10k should be a breeze for me by the time August rolled around (more on that below).

This race, the Culpeper International Triathlon, is part of the Virginia Triathlon Series. It’s a 1500 meter swim, 24 mile bike, and a 6.2 mile run in Culpeper, Virginia, about 90 minutes from my house.

I did the race last year and it was definitely a challenge for me. It is a hilly course, for one, and last year it was brutally hot. The run is also a two-loop course, which I hate because when I start the second loop, all I can think is “I can’t believe I have to do that entire thing again!”

My training has been going really well this summer, but I had one bad week about two weeks ago where “life got in the way” and I have had a really hard time bouncing back from that. Last weekend, I did a race simulation bike-run brick Saturday that started off fine, but ended with me walking the run, and then a very slow and sluggish long run on Sunday. So much for me thinking the 10k was going to be a breeze! This was not the kind of training weekend I wanted right before my first race since the injury. Then, to top it all off, I came down with a cold that totally zapped my energy this week.

So, going into the race I’m not really sure what to expect – my first race back, not-so-great training last weekend, recovering from a cold…

BUT I will have a little extra inspiration this weekend after being named to the Oiselle Team for 2013-14. I’m sure I will be thinking about that while I am on the run.

My goals for the race are fairly straightforward. Swim: Get in and go and don’t think about it; Bike: Go fast; Run: Don’t walk.

See you on the flip side!

IMG_0806

One thought on “Culpeper International Triathlon

  1. Pingback: July Is In The Books | Chatter Gets Fit

Leave a Reply

