Running Milestones

IMG_0739

One of the best things about becoming a runner is celebrating all of the “milestone” runs. I still remember little things about my first four miles (twice around a two mile loop in my neighborhood), eight miles (couldn’t wait to tell my husband), ten miles (on Inauguration Day in 2009), etc. Every extra mile gave me such a huge sense of accomplishment. Training for my first marathon, every weekend I hit a new milestone! I remember going out for Mexican food after my first fifteen miler, in total disbelief that I actually ran that far and lived to tell the tale. I remember finishing my first twenty (I actually said “ouch” out loud when my foot landed for that last step) and thinking there was NO WAY I could possibly run another 6 miles after that. But, of course, I did when I finished my first marathon in 2009.

Now that I am coming back from an injury, I am hitting all of these running milestones again. It doesn’t feel quite the same, of course, but it’s still pretty amazing to think that just a few months ago, I couldn’t run half a mile without excruciating pain, and now I am back up to running my old five mile route!

It’s really hard not to get greedy and want to get right back to my old mileage, but I know I will get there eventually and I’d rather take it slow and not get hurt again.

I am already SOOOO EXCITED to run the New York City Marathon this fall!! I know I have a lot of work to do between now and then (a LOT of work), but I’m really looking forward to hitting all of those running milestones along the way.

Leave a Reply

