Stuffed Peppers

I’m going to try to post one healthy thing I’ve actually cooked each week. For me, this is epic, because I don’t cook (unless you count microwaving an Amy’s burrito). So, this week, I decided to make my own version of stuffed peppers.

I bought these gorgeous, colorful, organic peppers at Whole Foods this morning. The photo doesn’t even do them justice (I don’t have great lighting in my kitchen).

IMG_0670

While those beauties were hanging out on the counter, I sauteed some organic diced white onion in olive oil. I added ground turkey breast, organic spinach, organic mushrooms, salt and pepper.

IMG_0675

After that was all together, I added some quinoa. Full disclosure: I buy the frozen quinoa in the bag at Whole Foods and just heat it up. This girl has a busy schedule!! I don’t have time for preparing my own grains!! I also bought the onion already diced…but I digress.

IMG_0677

Once I had the stuffing together, I cut the tops off the peppers. This being my first attempt at stuffed peppers, I cut the tops off as though I was carving a pumpkin.

IMG_0678IMG_0680

I thought I had made way too much stuffing, but once you start putting it into the peppers, you realize they really hold a lot!! No extra stuffing to be found.

IMG_0681

Once I had them assembled, I put them in the fridge and went for a swim, took a nap, and rode my bike.

Popped them in the oven at 350 while I rode on the trainer. Here is the final product:

IMG_0699

IMG_0698

I must say that they were quite tasty! Maybe this “cooking” stuff isn’t so bad after all!

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Peppers

  1. I’ve always wanted to try making the stuffed pepper thing. I have different recipes for them but haven’t tried one yet. Plan to do it soon. Yours look good.

Leave a Reply

