First Hot Run of 2013!

photo

Today, I ran during my lunch break and it was the first really hot run of the year. I’m happy summer is finally here, but it was definitely a shock to my system. The weather thus far this year has been unseasonably cool here in D.C., like in other parts of the country. In fact, a fellow Team HPB-er, Alyssa Godesky, just went to Lake Placid and trained in the SNOW over Memorial Day weekend. So, I’m happy I’m not dealing with that, but I also know I’m not great at running in the heat. I took it slow today and brought water along, but it was still a bit of a challenge. That is something I definitely want to work on improving this summer, especially since I am planning an August triathlon in Virginia.

The rest of the week has been great thus far. I took a Pilates class on Tuesday after work. Pilates is new for me, but I am totally loving it so far. I feel so stretched after each class that I feel like my limbs are miles long! And, I’m hoping it makes me a stronger triathlete and runner.

Speaking of running, I received confirmation of my entry for the New York City Marathon yesterday. I’ve wanted to do this race for years and had trained to run it last year, before it was canceled on the Friday night before the race. I’m so excited to finally run it this year and I’m hoping for a marathon PR (of course!). I’m just coming back from an IT Band injury that had me basically not running for almost five months over the winter, so I am going to take it easy this year and spend a lot of time foam rolling!

Happy training!

One thought on “First Hot Run of 2013!

  1. Pingback: Pilates! | Stephanie Granlund

Leave a Reply

