Blogging

I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for a while now, since I have been so inspired by other athletes’ blogs and I think it will be a good outlet for me to talk about my training (my poor husband doesn’t care about my cadence or my negative splits).  So, here goes.

I was supposed to be doing my first 70.3 next month – Ironman Mont Tremblant 70.3 – but I got injured last fall training for a marathon (long story for another post) and I had to put the 70.3 off for a year while I work on healing the injury and getting my running back on track.  In the meantime, I’ve been working on my swimming and biking and have set some new goals for this year, including completing my first ever century ride this August.

While I’m working on the training piece, I am also going to try to get my nutrition in order. Always easier said than done.  I’m not following any strict plan, but just focusing on eating healthier, eating whole foods, and eating less junk.  I’m spending hours and hours training every week, but it’s really not going to do me any good if I’m not fueling my body well-enough to support the training and, just as important, the recovery. To that end, I am going to start cooking something healthy once each week and posting it here, on my blog. Accountability!

Image

My upcoming race schedule for 2013:

August: Culpeper International TriathlonReston Century Ride

September: TBD

October: Ragnar Relay, Washington D.C.

November: New York City Marathon; North Central Rail Trail Marathon (relay)

Leave a Reply

